Book Review

Book Review: Dawn till Dusk (Genesis Crystal Saga #1) by Tyfanny Hackett and Becky Moynihan

Rating: ☆☆ 1/2
Audience: New adult urban fantasy romance
Length: 350 pages
Author: Tyffany Hackett and Becky Moynihan
Publisher: Feather Ink Publishing
Release Date: May 26th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Pain and hatred consume Tarik, the hot-headed Fae whose addiction to fighting shifters could be the death of him. Stuck in a city ruled by dragons, seeking vengeance is his only mission.

As a shifter, and the city’s Night Enforcer, Reagan’s job is to stop him. She quickly learns that trouble follows him at every turn, and keeping him alive leads her to make decisions that may have deadly consequences.

When a disastrous event forces these long-standing enemies to unravel a sinister plot, prejudice must be pushed aside. And lurking beneath the hatred is something neither of them are prepared for.

Discover Nathra City’s darkest secret in this enemies-to-lovers, NA Urban Fantasy Adventure Romance, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout.

MISSING SOMETHING.

Picked up on a while from Kindle Unlimited.

Not a winner for me (but could be for you!). These are just my thoughts.

I liked where this was initially heading. New adult, fae, enemies to lovers, all a good mix that I’m generally a fan of. I had issues with the combination.

For new adult, this still felt very YA. Which isn’t bad, just not what I expected. With older characters, I felt like there should be an older vibe to it all, and had a hard time seeing through to that level. The writing style does seem to blend well between the two authors. I never noticed any glaring differences between the voices or different pieces written. The pacing was fine everywhere except the romance. It wasn’t isnta-love (yay), it didn’t line up though. I felt that they were both more rude and standoffish to each other then flipped randomly into being into each other. I was missing the sassy banter that I love.

The plot is good and intriguing. I have plenty of questions and enough was left open for the series to continue. The antagonist was definitely a prick that tried his best to put fear into those around him. I liked both main characters overall. They both had faults and strengths that you could see and find value in.

Overall audience notes:

  • New adult paranormal fantasy romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: murder, physical, torture, animal attacks
  • Trigger warnings: brief mention of someone being raped (a side character), loss of a loved on

Instagram || Goodreads

1 thought on “Book Review: Dawn till Dusk (Genesis Crystal Saga #1) by Tyfanny Hackett and Becky Moynihan”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s