Book Review

Book Review: Jade War (The Green Bone Saga #2) by Fonda Lee

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
Audience: Fantasy
Length: 590 pages
Author: Fonda Lee
Publisher: Orbit
Release Date: July 23rd, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

In Jade War, the sequel to the World Fantasy Award-winning novel Jade City, the Kaul siblings battle rival clans for honor and control over an Asia-inspired fantasy metropolis.

On the island of Kekon, the Kaul family is locked in a violent feud for control of the capital city and the supply of magical jade that endows trained Green Bone warriors with supernatural powers they alone have possessed for hundreds of years.

Beyond Kekon’s borders, war is brewing. Powerful foreign governments and mercenary criminal kingpins alike turn their eyes on the island nation. Jade, Kekon’s most prized resource, could make them rich – or give them the edge they’d need to topple their rivals.

Faced with threats on all sides, the Kaul family is forced to form new and dangerous alliances, confront enemies in the darkest streets and the tallest office towers, and put honor aside in order to do whatever it takes to ensure their own survival – and that of all the Green Bones of Kekon.

Jade War is the second book of the Green Bone Saga, an epic trilogy about family, honor, and those who live and die by the ancient laws of blood and jade.

OOHHHHHHMYGOOOOOODNESS.

Wow. I’ve been saying it all week since I finished this one, don’t sleep on this series!!! It’s absolutely incredible. An Asian dark urban fantasy that will have you desperately wanting to be part of the No Peak clan, and begging to the universe they actually don’t know who you are.

I love all of these characters. I am attached and will harm others if they are harmed. Too bad the author is a kill whatever character I want type. Cue extreme anxiety and Pikachu face the entire time I’m reading hoping my loves aren’t taken out. THE STRESS Y’ALL. I almost lost it at the end because I LOOOVE that the writing keeps me wondering who’s going to make it out alive.

All of the political intrigue and family drama are on point. It doesn’t feel over run to the story and works for everyone involved. I liked getting location changes to other areas of the world and seeing how those are affecting Kekan. There’s just so much here!!! Too much to say. I am wrapped up in this series and anxious for the last one.

As a romance lover, I like the addition of the small passion filled storylines throughout. While some are heartbreaking (and I do mean my soul shattered) and others are a bit more healing, they only add to the larger plot. I love when all of the strings weave well within each chapter.

Overall audience notes:

  • Dark Urban Adult Fantasy
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: kisses to brief open door scenes
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: abortion, loss of loved ones, explosions, brutal torture, gruesome violence and gore, homophobia, ableism

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: The PAN (The PAN #1) by Jenny Hickman

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: NA Urban Fantasy Romance / Retelling
Length: 414 pages
Author: Jenny Hickman
Publisher: Midnight Tide Publishing
Release Date: October 14th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Since her parents were killed, Vivienne has always felt ungrounded, shuffled through the foster care system. Just when liberation finally seems possible—days before her eighteenth birthday—Vivienne is hospitalized with symptoms no one can explain.

The doctors may be puzzled, but Deacon, her mysterious new friend, claims she has an active Nevergene. His far-fetched diagnosis comes with a warning: she is about to become an involuntary test subject for Humanitarian Organization for Order and Knowledge—or HOOK. Vivienne can either escape to Neverland’s Kensington Academy and learn to fly (Did he really just say fly?) or risk sticking around to become a human lab rat. But accepting a place among The PAN means Vivienne must abandon her life and foster family to safeguard their secrets and hide in Neverland’s shadows… forever.

WHO KNEW.

Who knew that I would read a book that’s a retelling of Peter Pan and enjoy it? Nay, really enjoy it? NOT ME. [I’ve never been a fan of Peter Pan]

This had the romance that I’m clearly always on the look out for. Deacon and Vivienne have this insta-ish, heated romance that I loved! This connection felt right and their banter and antics had me lovin’ every minute of it. I like how both of them have flaws and things to work on and you can see the character changes over time.

The world set up is a fun urban fantasy type. There’s only a touch of magic, but it works so well! I love the HOOK take and how the battle between the PAN and HOOK shake out. It’s very interesting and I’m curious how it will continue to go in the series. I like that I found out a lot, but that there’s still plenty more to deduce in book two!

It went back and forth between a bit of younger YA drama/immaturity to some older more mature YA vibes. I hope it continues to hang out in the mature area because that’s really working for the story. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Overall audience notes:

  • Young Adult Urban Fantasy / Retelling
  • Language: a little
  • Romance: kisses / make-outs
  • Violence: physical, sexual harassment, kidnapping, loss of parents

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Sinking City (The Skilled #1) by Megan Walker and Janci Patterson

Rating: ☆☆
Audience: YA Urban Fantasy
Length: 315 pages
Author: Megan Walker and Janci Patterson
Publisher: Garden Ninja Books
Release Date: October 19th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

On the streets of Venice, magic burns and wars wage, while powerful illusions and mind-bending magic keep the world of The Skilled hidden from ordinary people—or typics. The powerful Mardova Family rules Venice with an iron fist, keeping their powers secret and their eyes on their enemies.

Zan Mardova would rather use his magical Skills to do tricks on his motorcycle or fly over buildings than involve himself in Family politics, but when he discovers a rival Family has brainwashed a beautiful typic girl named Ellie, he begins to unravel a web of dangerous secrets with Ellie at the center. Zan’s loyalty has always been to the Mardovas and the fate of Venice, but as Zan’s feelings for Ellie grow, he can no longer ignore his suspicions about members of his own Family.

Even in a city as narrow and twisting as Venice, secrets can’t stay buried forever. Zan fears there’s a traitor in the Mardova Family—and it might be him.

Thank you to one of the authors, Megan Walker, for a copy in exchange or a review. All opinions are my own!

WELL.

This was unfortunately disappointing. Urban fantasy is a tough genre for me to get into, and that how it felt here too. I do think a younger audience would be more into some of the tropes/story lines than I was though.

Insta-romance abounded for these two teens. There was one cute date, and then BAM. Couldn’t be without each other. It wasn’t that Zan and Ellie didn’t have chemistry, I just wanted more of a build-up with them, a little more angst. So much was trying to happen at once that this story line fell to the side and then felt disjointed.

There’s a lot of action! Sinking City keeps you busy. The nature behind the magic system was interesting and I appreciated that it seemed to have clear definitions on what could/could not be accomplished. It always seems more ridiculous when magic doesn’t have boundaries so I’m glad they were present here. The Italian setting was nice too. It was a nice wanderlust adventure around the cities.

I liked Zan as a main character. I think he holds a lot of promise for the next book in growth and coming into his power. Ellie, on the other hand, needs to drop the damsel in distress vibes. There were many times she admitted it as well and I get annoyed when a character can’t take care of themselves (I’m cool with them learning/growing into it, but this was a continual issue).

Overall audience notes:

  • YA Urban Fantasy
  • Language: a little; light
  • Romance: Kisses
  • Violence: murder, magical attacks, physical altercations, guns
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: loss of a loved one

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Dawn till Dusk (Genesis Crystal Saga #1) by Tyfanny Hackett and Becky Moynihan

Rating: ☆☆ 1/2
Audience: New adult urban fantasy romance
Length: 350 pages
Author: Tyffany Hackett and Becky Moynihan
Publisher: Feather Ink Publishing
Release Date: May 26th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Pain and hatred consume Tarik, the hot-headed Fae whose addiction to fighting shifters could be the death of him. Stuck in a city ruled by dragons, seeking vengeance is his only mission.

As a shifter, and the city’s Night Enforcer, Reagan’s job is to stop him. She quickly learns that trouble follows him at every turn, and keeping him alive leads her to make decisions that may have deadly consequences.

When a disastrous event forces these long-standing enemies to unravel a sinister plot, prejudice must be pushed aside. And lurking beneath the hatred is something neither of them are prepared for.

Discover Nathra City’s darkest secret in this enemies-to-lovers, NA Urban Fantasy Adventure Romance, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout.

MISSING SOMETHING.

Picked up on a while from Kindle Unlimited.

Not a winner for me (but could be for you!). These are just my thoughts.

I liked where this was initially heading. New adult, fae, enemies to lovers, all a good mix that I’m generally a fan of. I had issues with the combination.

For new adult, this still felt very YA. Which isn’t bad, just not what I expected. With older characters, I felt like there should be an older vibe to it all, and had a hard time seeing through to that level. The writing style does seem to blend well between the two authors. I never noticed any glaring differences between the voices or different pieces written. The pacing was fine everywhere except the romance. It wasn’t isnta-love (yay), it didn’t line up though. I felt that they were both more rude and standoffish to each other then flipped randomly into being into each other. I was missing the sassy banter that I love.

The plot is good and intriguing. I have plenty of questions and enough was left open for the series to continue. The antagonist was definitely a prick that tried his best to put fear into those around him. I liked both main characters overall. They both had faults and strengths that you could see and find value in.

Overall audience notes:

  • New adult paranormal fantasy romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: murder, physical, torture, animal attacks
  • Trigger warnings: brief mention of someone being raped (a side character), loss of a loved on

Instagram || Goodreads