Book Review

Book Review: Namesake (Fable #2) by Adrienne Young

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: YA Fantasy
Length: 368 pages
Author: Adrienne Young
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Release Date: March 16th, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Trader. Fighter. Survivor.

With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and its crew were set to start over. That freedom is short-lived when she becomes a pawn in a notorious thug’s scheme. In order to get to her intended destination she must help him to secure a partnership with Holland, a powerful gem trader who is more than she seems.

As Fable descends deeper into a world of betrayal and deception she learns that her mother was keeping secrets, and those secrets are now putting the people Fable cares about in danger. If Fable is going to save them then she must risk everything, including the boy she loves and the home she has finally found.

Filled with action, emotion, and lyrical writing, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Namesake, the final book in the captivating Fable duology.

ENJOYABLE.

SAINT. The first thing this book makes me remember is Saint. Wow, he was the real gem here and oh my goodness I loved him. I would do many things to get another book involving him. His relationship with Fable is complicated and beautiful. An undeniable parental protection that made my heart swell.

Okay he’s a side character, but a worthy side character. Back to Fable. I loved her too. She’s a strong presence with some true deep moments. I like the way she formulated plans to save herself and those she loved. I’m especially happy there was a HEA here or I would have been broken.

WEST. Really into his morally gray self. I wish he was on page a lot more because I wanted more of his story too. I love the relationship he has with Fable. This magnetic connection that draws them to one another at any given time. I wanted even more romance since it felt left off until about near the end.

My main issue with this one was the pacing. It was slowwww going for the first half. I wasn’t sure what the point of the current plot was, and how it was going to solve the original plot from Fable. It wrapped up everything pretty dang quickly so yes, I think things were sealed off, but leaking a bit.

I have enjoyed reading all of Adrienne Young’s books and can’t wait to see what’s in the works next. Gorgeous writing and amazing settings always leave me with a pleasurable read.

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult fantasy
  • Language: some
  • Romance: kisses and a closed door scene
  • Violence: murder, swords, near drownings, rough seas, physical altercations

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Jade Fire Gold by June C.L. Tan

Rating: ☆☆1/2
Audience: YA Fantasy
Length: 464 pages
Author: June C.L. Tan
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: October 12th, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

In an empire on the brink of war…

Ahn is no one, with no past and no family.

Altan is a lost heir, his future stolen away as a child.

When they meet, Altan sees in Ahn a path to reclaiming the throne. Ahn sees a way to finally unlock her past and understand her arcane magical abilities.

But they may have to pay a far deadlier price than either could have imagined.

Ferocious action, shadowy intrigue, and a captivating romance collide in June CL Tan’s debut, a stunning homage to the Xianxia novel with a tender, beating heart, perfect for fans of The Bone Witch and We Hunt the Flame.

TYPICAL.

I hate to say it but that’s how I felt for this one. Which means a lot of people will probably really enjoy this. I’ve just read one too many young adult fantasies that played out exactly the same and there was no nuanced new things to change my tune.

I had the hardest time with the main characters. Things weren’t clicking and I wanted more depth and understanding of them both. Then the romance came into play and I felt like things were happening too quickly all over the place. The plot was super fast and things needed more time to settle.

By halfway I was in speed read mode and looking very much forward to being through with this one. This is a dash of my thoughts so take them for what you will. It truly wasn’t a bad book. The writing is fine and the potential for others to love it is there. Most of it didn’t work for me personally.

Overall audience notes:

  • YA Fantasy + Romance
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: physical and magical altercations, murder, loss of loved ones
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: self harm, blood/gore depiction, grief/loss, torture

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Crave (Crave #1) by Tracy Wolff

Rating: ☆☆ 1/2
Audience: YA Paranormal Romance
Length: 592 pages
Author: Tracy Wolff
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Release Date: April 7th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy. Nothing is right about this place or the other students in it. Here I am, a mere mortal among gods…or monsters. I still can’t decide which of these warring factions I belong to, if I belong at all. I only know the one thing that unites them is their hatred of me.

Then there’s Jaxon Vega. A vampire with deadly secrets who hasn’t felt anything for a hundred years. But there’s something about him that calls to me, something broken in him that somehow fits with what’s broken in me.

Which could spell death for us all.

Because Jaxon walled himself off for a reason. And now someone wants to wake a sleeping monster, and I’m wondering if I was brought here intentionally—as the bait.

YIKES.

I’ll start off on a positive note. I’m not mad I read this. I had been curious for a long time what my thoughts would be on this popular series and after a few friends pushing it on me, I gave it a shot. It was entertaining. I’ll give it that much. And now my curiosity has been sated and I can put this series behind me.

Grace was a bit all over the place. Trying to claim she didn’t let a guy dictate her life then practically begging him to talk to her? Uhm, okay. Not to mention her inability to acknowledge the danger around her and still go running off towards it.

Jaxon waved so many red flags he should just carry a banner. I think it was supposed to play into some vampire book stereotypes? Alpha-ish and all that? It came off possessive. I think there’s a love triangle in the next book? My money is on whoever that soul is.

It was cool having more than just vampires running around. The addition of werewolves, witches and dragons was a nice touch. This never read as a Twilight knock-off. It is it’s own YA vampire book and that’s a positive too.

Overall audience notes:

  • YA Paranormal romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: heated make-outs
  • Violence: physical altercations, attempted murder, poisoning, magic weaponry
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: loss of parents (car accident), Nonconsensual drugging, graphic blood & gore depiction, Blood-drinking, gun violence, murder

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Written in My Own Heart’s Blood (Outlander #8) by Diana Gabaldon

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
Audience: Historical Fiction
Length: 825 pages
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Publisher: Bantam
Release Date: June 10th, 2014
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

It is June 1778, and the world seems to be turning upside-down. The British Army is withdrawing from Philadelphia, with George Washington in pursuit, and for the first time, it looks as if the rebels might actually win. But for Claire Fraser and her family, there are even more tumultuous revolutions that have to be accommodated.Her former husband, Jamie, has returned from the dead, demanding to know why in his absence she married his best friend, Lord John Grey. Lord John’s son, the ninth Earl of Ellesmere, is no less shocked to discover that his real father is actually the newly resurrected Jamie Fraser, and Jamie’s nephew Ian Murray discovers that his new-found cousin has an eye for the woman who has just agreed to marry him.

And while Claire is terrified that one of her husbands may be about to murder the other, in the 20th century her descendants face even more desperate turns of events. Her daughter Brianna is trying to protect her son from a vicious criminal with murder on his mind, while her husband Roger has disappeared into the past.

BEST OF THE SERIES.

Yup. I said it.

Best of the series.

I loved this book so much. It was a combination of being with these characters for so long, getting some storylines I was hopeful for and it ending on a note I could definitely live with. All of these things made for such a perfect novel.

I really recommend this series on audio! It’s the same narrator for all 8 books and she does a fantastic job. The characters feel alive and I think that’s what has helped me love them all the more.

Wowww do I love Jaime and Claire. One of my all time OTPs. These two do NOT give up on each other and I am always here for them. I love their unfailing faith in one another. Their stubborness to remain together in the direst of circumstances and the way they cling together when everything else has fallen apart. A couple I will love always.

All of these other characters, Bri and Roger (+their kids), Fergus and Marsali, William, Ian and Rachel, John Grey and others, have my heart. I love how well adapted everyone is. There’s so much to even just the side characters that the books themselves feel incredibly tangible. Like these people really were there. I love the clear effort and research that goes into each of these novels.

I’m so excited to hear that there’s another book coming eventually. I will be allllll over that one too! One of my favorite historical series ever!

Overall audience notes:

  • Historical fiction / romance
  • Language: strong throughout
  • Romance: multiple open door scenes
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: loss of loved ones (child, pet, and adults), war, PTSD, slavery, attempted rape, sexual assault, sex with a minor, suicide, murder, abortion [these books contain many triggers and intense content, I know I may have missed some of them, please research before choosing to read this series!]

Instagram || Goodreads