Book Review

Book Review: Dawn till Dusk (Genesis Crystal Saga #1) by Tyfanny Hackett and Becky Moynihan

Rating: ☆☆ 1/2
Audience: New adult urban fantasy romance
Length: 350 pages
Author: Tyffany Hackett and Becky Moynihan
Publisher: Feather Ink Publishing
Release Date: May 26th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Pain and hatred consume Tarik, the hot-headed Fae whose addiction to fighting shifters could be the death of him. Stuck in a city ruled by dragons, seeking vengeance is his only mission.

As a shifter, and the city’s Night Enforcer, Reagan’s job is to stop him. She quickly learns that trouble follows him at every turn, and keeping him alive leads her to make decisions that may have deadly consequences.

When a disastrous event forces these long-standing enemies to unravel a sinister plot, prejudice must be pushed aside. And lurking beneath the hatred is something neither of them are prepared for.

Discover Nathra City’s darkest secret in this enemies-to-lovers, NA Urban Fantasy Adventure Romance, perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Jennifer L Armentrout.

MISSING SOMETHING.

Picked up on a while from Kindle Unlimited.

Not a winner for me (but could be for you!). These are just my thoughts.

I liked where this was initially heading. New adult, fae, enemies to lovers, all a good mix that I’m generally a fan of. I had issues with the combination.

For new adult, this still felt very YA. Which isn’t bad, just not what I expected. With older characters, I felt like there should be an older vibe to it all, and had a hard time seeing through to that level. The writing style does seem to blend well between the two authors. I never noticed any glaring differences between the voices or different pieces written. The pacing was fine everywhere except the romance. It wasn’t isnta-love (yay), it didn’t line up though. I felt that they were both more rude and standoffish to each other then flipped randomly into being into each other. I was missing the sassy banter that I love.

The plot is good and intriguing. I have plenty of questions and enough was left open for the series to continue. The antagonist was definitely a prick that tried his best to put fear into those around him. I liked both main characters overall. They both had faults and strengths that you could see and find value in.

Overall audience notes:

  • New adult paranormal fantasy romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: murder, physical, torture, animal attacks
  • Trigger warnings: brief mention of someone being raped (a side character), loss of a loved on

Instagram || Goodreads

Monthly Wrap-Up

Monthly Reading Wrap-Up: June 2020

Halfway through the year!

I’m really happy I read 7 books this month! Things are still moving slowly, and that’s okay. I’m getting the books read that I need too and enjoying a handful of others. Excited for the second half of the year.

Favorites of the month: Beach Read and Drums of Autumn
Least favorite this month: Dawn till Dusk

  • Time of Ours Lives by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka – (☆☆☆ 1/2)
  • We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) by Hafsah Faizal – (☆☆☆ 1/2)
  • Beach Read by Emily Henry – (☆☆☆☆☆)
  • [ARC] The Damned (The Beautiful #1) by Renee Ahdieh – (☆☆☆ 1/2)
  • Dawn till Dusk (Genesis Crystal Saga #1) by Tyffany Hackett and Becky Moynihan – (☆☆ 1/2)
  • My Calamity Jane (The Lady Janies #3) by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows – (☆☆☆)
  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander #4) by Diana Gabaldon – (☆☆☆☆☆)

Instagram || Goodreads