Book Review

Book Review: Holiday Romance by Catherine Walsh

Rating: ★★★★★
Audience: Contemporary Holiday Romance
Length: 354 pages
Author: Catherine Walsh
Publisher: Bookouture
Release Date: October 4th, 2022
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

She’s meant to be catching flights, not catching feelings…

Molly and Andrew are just trying to get home to Ireland for the holidays, when a freak snowstorm grounds their flight.

Nothing romantic has ever happened between them: they’re friends and that’s all. But once a year, for the last ten years, Molly has spent seven hours and fifteen minutes sitting next to Andrew on the last flight before Christmas from Chicago to Dublin, drinking terrible airplane wine and catching up on each other’s lives. In spite of all the ways the two friends are different, it’s the holiday tradition neither of them has ever wanted to give up.

Molly isn’t that bothered by Christmas, but—in yet another way they’re total opposites—Andrew is a full-on fanatic for the festive season and she knows how much getting back to Ireland means to him. So, instead of doing the sane thing and just celebrating the holidays together in America, she does the stupid thing. The irrational thing. She vows to get him home. And in time for his mam’s famous Christmas dinner.

The clock is ticking. But Molly always has a plan. And—as long as the highly-specific combination of taxis, planes, boats, and trains all run on time—it can’t possibly go wrong.

What she doesn’t know is that, as the snow falls over the city and over the heads of two friends who are sure they’re not meant to be together, the universe might just have a plan of its own…

A totally gorgeous and escapist friends-to-lovers festive romance with a swoon-worthy hero. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi Macfarlane, and Christina Lauren.

ABSOLUTELY LOVED.

This one took me by surprise and I am so happy it did. WHAT A GEM. This is a must read for my holiday romance fans!!

The angst between these two friends as they turned to lovers was immaculate. I felt the tension from the get go and within a few chapters I was completely wrapped up in watching these two fall in love. I loved the brief flashback moments that recounted all of their plane rides together. It set the stage well for where things landed in the end.

And OHMGEE SWEET ANDREW. I was very much misty eyed when I got to some of those later chapters. Straight PUDDLE. Andrew was amazing and I love him and couldn’t get enough. I really liked Molly as the FMC too. She was realistic yet willing to do what she could for her closest friend. I loved the whirlwind of an adventure they went on, literally around the world to get home for Christmas.

I loved all of the Christmas and holiday spirit, the families were stellar. Always love a supportive and loving family as side characters. The ending was all the best things and now I want to read this author’s other books.

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary Holiday Romance
  • Language: Some strong
  • Romance: 2ish open door; low-med explicit
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: pregnancy (side character), childbirth, mentions of alcoholism

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s