Book Review

Book Review: In a New York Minute by Kate Spencer

Rating: ★★
Audience: Contemporary Romance
Length: 320 pages
Author: Kate Spencer
Publisher: Forever
Release Date: March 15th, 2022
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

A clever, tender, and romantic “Nora Ephron romp for the modern ages” (Christina Lauren) for readers of Jasmine Guillory, Abby Jimenez, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor, and that love can happen . . . In a New York Minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other—and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life—and love—she’s always wanted?

NOT AMUSED.

What started out humorous with a wild disaster of a meet-cute that I was totally here for eventually felt completely flat.

I thought there needed to be a lot more interaction between Franny and Hayes. There was some of that in the second half and I was at last feeling more invested in their relationship, BUT OH MY GOSH. I threw my kindle (okay not really, but I was upset) when the conflict came around. It was completely unnecessary drama fueled to add those last 50 pages and I’m still cranky about it. That did not work for me on every level. I think I enjoyed the side characters and their relationships more than I did the main couple.

A New York setting with an interior designer were all small aspects I looked forward to reading about. There’s plenty of potential within these words, the execution was very poor for me though. Some of the other sub plots took over a lot too. And while I didn’t mind that [for the most part], I wish the focus was different.

Not one I would recommend even a little. It’s fast paced and I’m grateful I didn’t spend too much time on it.

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: closed door
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: heart attack (off page, side character)

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s