Book Review

Book Review: Sisters of Sword and Song by Rebecca Ross

Rating: ★★★★★
Audience: YA Fantasy + Romance
Length: 432 pages
Author: Rebecca Ross
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: June 23rd, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.

SISTER SISTER.

Oddly enough, I have just previously finished a book where two sisters didn’t like each other and that was never explained well. Thank heavens for this book that instead brought sisters together in an absolutely beautiful way and showcased the power of that kind of bond.

I am really coming to love Rebecca Ross’s writing style and this is my new favorite YA book by her. I loved the plot and world building and all of the little nuanced magical details that brought everything together. Both sisters, Evadne and Halycon have POV’s and are one of kind women on their own. I love strong FMC’s and that is heavily present throughout.

There’s even a little dash of romance in Evadne’s character arc and I thought it wove in well to the overall storyline. I really liked the love interest and the complexity of his character too.

As a theme of forgiveness, strength, and found family emerge I quickly became invested in all aspects. Some great emotional moments towards the end where the action leaves you flipping pages as fast as you can. And I loved the way the ending wrapped up!

Overall audience notes:

  • YA Fantasy
  • Language: very little
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: medium
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: accidental murder, poisoning, battle themes, physical and magical altercations, loss of loved ones

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s