Book Review

Book Review: The Inadequate Heir (The Bridge Kingdom #3) by Danielle L. Jensen

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
Audience: New Adult Fantasy Romance
Length: 625 pages
Author: Danielle L. Jensen
Publisher: Audible Originals
Release Date: November 18th, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Return to the world of The Bridge Kingdom in this sensuous fantasy full of romance and intrigue that is perfect for fans of From Blood and Ash and A Court of Silver Flames.

A soldier raised as heir to an empire, Zarrah is motivated by two truths. The first is that the Veliant family murdered her mother. And the second is that her pursuit of vengeance will put every last one of them in their graves.

The Endless War between Maridrina and Valcotta has raged for generations, leaving thousands of Zarrah’s people dead and countless more orphaned. So when she’s given command of the contested city of Nerastis, Zarrah is prepared to do whatever it takes to destroy the Maridrinian forces who oppose her. And to kill the Veliant prince who leads them.

Yet a chance encounter with an anonymous, and handsome, Maridrinian causes Zarrah to question whether the violence she’s perpetrated is justice or a crime. And as she continues to meet the nameless man each night, she finds common ground – and fiery passion – in his arms.

But when identities are revealed, Zarrah must decide whether to embrace a chance at peace…or march to the drums of war.

THIS WAS EVERYTHING.

I know my review won’t fully encapsulate how much I loved, LOVED this forbidden fantasy romance. I’ll just say it again, READ THE BRIDGE KINGDOM SERIES.

Keris is my new man. Holy wow did I love him (and who would think I’d love a blonde man? lololol). I loved his tenacity and absolute unbending will to do anything he needed to in order to protect Zarrah. But never fear, Zarrah is an amazing heroine in her own right who takes down the forces around her with some killer moves. I LOVE THESE TWO. TIH was about double the length of TBK/TTQ which means we got a whooooole lot more. I love that there was more depth, more nuances, further understanding of choices and the world. IT’S ALL HERE.

I would completely forget that this actually covers the entire TTQ timeline. I was wrapped up in what felt like a new story. I love that it all was fresh and even when there were some moments of cross over I was over the top anxious wondering what was going to happen next.

AND THE VILLAINS. There’s top notch ones running around this story. Another was added that made me want to throw them across a room. THE BETRAYAL. THE ENDING. MY HEART HURTS. I thought I was emotionally prepared, but alas, DLJ knows how to rip my heart out and beg for the next book.

Needless to say, YOU MUST READ THIS.

Overall audience notes:

  • NA Fantasy Romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: multiple open door
  • Violence: murder, torture, executions, physical altercations, weaponry, many near death experiences

Instagram || Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s