Book Review

Book Review: Gods & Monsters (Serpent & Dove #3) by Shelby Mahurin

Rating: ☆☆☆
Audience: YA Fantasy
Length: 624 pages
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 27th, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

The spellbinding conclusion to the New York Times and IndieBound bestselling trilogy Serpent & Dove. This stunning fantasy take on French witches and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

After a heartbreaking loss, Lou, Reid, Beau, and Coco are bent on vengeance more than ever before—and none more so than Lou.

But this is no longer the Lou they thought they knew. No longer the Lou that captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

THE DISAPPOINTMENT I FEEL HURTS.

My one main sentiment is that of the previous sentence. Why can’t I get a good ending to a series? Is this why I have a hard time finishing them? UGH.

I love the characters and this world and I think that’s also what made the dissatisfaction more apparent. Everyone on this cast is solid and well rounded with flaws and strengths. Wit and passion that make me love them. And I desperately needed more of that.

What I missed most was Reid and Lou, being Reid and Lou. In vague terms, both characters were dealing with separate debacles that took until page FIVE HUNDRED THIRTY FIVE to be completely and fully resolved. To say I was salty was an understatement. I wanted the banter and flirtation that was way more present in the first two novels. The main conflict doesn’t always have to come between the couple. Especially if the couple has already truly gotten together before the finale then why not LET THEM WORK TOGETHER. Gosh dang it, such a missed opportunity.

With those debacles came a very round about and torturously long route to the final battle. With many scenes that dragged on. And when the sex scenes came into play I didn’t love those either. They didn’t fit the story, and they definitely didn’t fit the YA category. A big mash up of MEH.

I was full of anguish at how all of this went down. I loved the tidbit from a past character. That was sweet and hopeful. The ending wrapped things up at least, and the epilogue was cute.

Overall audience notes:

  • YA Fantasy
  • Language: a little
  • Romance: kisses to two brief open door scenes
  • Violence: physical, magical, near drowning, fires, loss of friends, battle scenes

Instagram || Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s