Book Review

Book Review: The Temporary Roomie (It Happened in Nashville #2) by Sarah Adams

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
Audience: Contemporary Romance
Length: 286 pages
Author: Sarah Adams
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: April 1st, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

What happens when you have to play nice with your greatest enemy? Revenge.

Drew Marshall may have let me move into his spare bedroom while my house is being renovated, but don’t think for one second his kindness comes without strings. Big, ugly, fake relationship strings.

That’s okay, though, Dr. Andrew. I’ll agree to your terms, move into your house, and act like
your girlfriend when the big day comes; but I also plan to make your life miserable—make you pay for what you did to me.

I may not be good at forgiving or forgetting, but I’m excellent at getting even.

Get ready to laugh until you cry with this sizzling, hilarious, closed-door romantic comedy!

NO SURPRISE, I LOVED IT.

Sarah Adams has officially become an auto-read author for me. I want all of her books all of the time. Adams books just make you feel GOOD. They’re not high drama, high intensity. They’re full of things to make you laugh (of which I did), swoon a bit (of which also happened) and have a fantastic time reading.

I’ve never read a pregancy trope contemporary romance. As my first one I can say I really loved the way it all played out. I didn’t know quite how the storyline would work but the journey Jessie and Drew went on was perfect. I love that this doesn’t have some huge conflict that causes a break-up. There’s honest conversations, raw emotions and genuine desire.

There’s even some more tropes you might love!! Enemies to lovers, only one bed, and fake dating. You can clearly see how easy it was for me to love it. The chemistry was FIRE. I cheered for them the entire time.

And that ENDING. I teared up. It was BEAUTIFUL. Not exactly how I imagined it and I didn’t care one lick. It was even better. I loved it. Adorable, memberable, and so very tender and sweet. I love Drew. I love Jessie. I love that this had the cutest happily ever after.

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary romance
  • Langauge: none
  • Romance: kisses to implied closed door scenes
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: partner abandonment, loss of parent

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Lost Roses (Lilac Girls #2) by Martha Hall Kelly

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: Historical Fiction
Length: 432 pages
Author: Martha Hall Kelly
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Release Date: April 9th, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

The runaway bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. This sweeping new novel, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St. Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

It is 1914 and the world has been on the brink of war so many times, many New Yorkers treat the subject with only passing interest. Eliza Ferriday is thrilled to be traveling to St. Petersburg with Sofya Streshnayva, a cousin of the Romanov’s. The two met years ago one summer in Paris and became close confidantes. Now Eliza embarks on the trip of a lifetime, home with Sofya to see the splendors of Russia. But when Austria declares war on Serbia and Russia’s Imperial dynasty begins to fall, Eliza escapes back to America, while Sofya and her family flee to their country estate. In need of domestic help, they hire the local fortuneteller’s daughter, Varinka, unknowingly bringing intense danger into their household. On the other side of the Atlantic, Eliza is doing her part to help the White Russian families find safety as they escape the revolution. But when Sofya’s letters suddenly stop coming she fears the worst for her best friend.

From the turbulent streets of St. Petersburg to the avenues of Paris and the society of fallen Russian emigre’s who live there, the lives of Eliza, Sofya, and Varinka will intersect in profound ways, taking readers on a breathtaking ride through a momentous time in history.

TEAR-JERKER.

I don’t really cry during books, but I tend to tear up to those hard hitting ones. This would be the case here. Oh goodness, Kelly’s books just always hit me in the soul. One of the story lines really had my heart hurting and begging for those last few pages to give me a (what I would consider) hopeful ending. There’s not joyous, happy endings here. But I love that there is a semblance of a light at the end of a tunnel.

This was a powerful story that I immensely enjoyed. I loved that this was a World War 1 setting and took place all over the world. The three leading ladies had me cheering for their hope and rescue and also spitting mad at other times. I felt drawn into their lives and the paths they were being forced to walk.

I love that this is a “prequel” book and that the next book in this series will be even further back. The research and love that clearly went into this book is evident through the beautiful writing and remarkable stories. The storytelling is captivating and poignant. It’s a bit slower than Lilac Girls, but still holds that magnetism to make the pages move by.

Definitely recommend for those who love historical fiction.

Overall audience notes:

  • Historical fiction [World War 1]
  • Language: some
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: see Trigger Warnings
  • Trigger warnings: sexual assault of a minor, multiple instances of sexual harassment, kidnapping, loss of loved ones, incest (half-brother sexually assaults his half-sister multiple times), murder, depictions of war, gun violence

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Loved Up (Wayfair Witches #6) by A.A. Albright

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: Paranormal Cozy Mystery
Length: 273 pages
Author: A.A. Albright
Publisher: Self-published
Release Date: February 9th, 2018
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

For the Wayfair Witches, the romantic season is beginning. Unfortunately, it’s beginning with a murder.

When Nancy Berry is killed during spring celebrations, the reason seems clear to her coven leader. Will Berry believes that Nancy was killed as a threat, to force him to vote the right way in an upcoming election.

But Wanda thinks there’s a far more fiendish reason for Nancy’s murder. She suspects Nancy was killed by the mysterious assassins known as the Dark Team.

Wanda and the gang are closer than ever to tracking the killers down, but they might be about to experience a slight delay …

Because while the romantic season might have begun with a murder, it hasn’t stopped the Wayfair women feeling amorous. Maybe even a little too amorous …

Could there be a love potion at work?

AT LAST.

I was hoping this installment was going to give me some things that I needed to happen to want to continue.

THEY DID. So here I am, still fully invested six books in.

In a simple story line there was a lot to unpack. This focused more on Wanda’s romance life and brought us up to speed on where we all know that’s going. I thought it was quirky with everything happening, making me very happy that this mystery was solved. Because I definitely sat here most of the book going, what is happening?!?

All of the reveals had me dropping my jaw, and also saying, I KNEW IT.

Give me a fabulous ending and I’m reading to follow Wanda onto the next mystery. I love the simplicity of these stories and seriously, the absolute coziness. These fit their genre incredibly well and have become a comfort read I can rely on to have a good time.

Overall audience notes:

  • Paranormal cozy mystery
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses; some innuendo
  • Violence: murder, kidnapping

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: Young adult mystery
Length: 384 pages
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Release Date: September 1st, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

YOU HAVE MY ATTENTION.

Well this held my attention from the get-go.

How trippy to find out you’re all of a sudden an heiress because someone decided to give you all of their money? WhOa.

What a wild mansion. I loved that there was so much to the entire house. The random tunnels, hidden spaces, the amount of rooms, all of it. Without such a obscene amount of rooms to create this land there wouldn’t have been a story. It added many adrenaline pumping moments and times where I was taken by surprise.

The riddles were brilliant and well put together. I love when I can’t solve things right away because it really adds to the mystery and suspense of the novel.

Throw in a group of four brothers with hidden pasts and their own issues and we’ve got a ourselves some side characters. I loved these Hawthorne brothers!! What didn’t I love? That dang love triangle. Boooooo. It wasn’t too much of a distraction, but the stronger feelings became the more I was hoping things would go one way or another.

After that bomb drop of an ending I’m invested. I want to know how this sequel works out because I have twice the amount of questions.

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult mystery/thriller
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: guns, physical, someone passing away from a heart condition

Instagram || Goodreads