Book Review

Book Review: Sovereign Sacrifice (Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #4) by Elise Kova

Rating: ☆☆☆
Audience: YA Fantasy
Length: 326 pages
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Release Date: October 19th, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Vi was supposed to be the perfect crown princess. Then, she abandoned her throne.
Vi was supposed to save the world as its Champion. Then, the world she loved vanished.

Now, all she knows is that she has deadly magic and brutal cunning and she’s ready to settle some scores.

Old loves and new allies tell her to play it safe. But Vi is done with caution. She has a chance to right ancient wrongs and this princess-turned-warrior isn’t turning back.

She’s ready to bring an end to the vortex of death the world is trapped in.

The magic, romance, and epic adventure continue in book four of Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles.

TOO MUCH OF A FLASHBACK.

I feel like I’ve really struggled through this series. It’s up and down. This was more of a down for me.

My biggest issue was that this book was essentially a flashback. I haaaaate flashback books. It’s fine when it’s part of the story that’s going forward, and yeah, things were moving forward. Yet this entire time it was essentially old news. I knew what was going to happen.

I’m still into the romance between Taavin and Vi. It’s sweet. I wish there was more between them. I’ve been enjoying the banter and the quiet moments they get together. It makes me hopeful for the finale of this series.

I don’t feel like I have much to say. I do enjoy the writing and the series at its base. This was just mostly a dud for me.

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult fantasy
  • Language: light
  • Romance: kisses/make-outs
  • Violence: physical altercations, murder, elemental magic

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Failed Future (Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #3) by Elise Kova

Rating: ☆☆☆☆  
Audience: YA Fantasy + Romance
Length: 356 pages
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Release Date: July 20th, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

When worlds collide, and things are rarely what they seem, there may be no one Vi can trust.

Having forsaken her crown for a chance to save her family, and the world, Vi Solaris washes up on the shores of Meru. She’s wounded and barely alive. But Vi’s fight for survival is only just beginning.

As a princess in a foreign land, everyone is after her.

The pirate queen Adela wants to sell her to the evil elfin’ra. The Twilight King wants to use her to settle an old score. And, perhaps most dangerous, is the scheming Lord of the Faithful who sees her as an opportunity to further consolidate his power.

The only path for Vi is forward. But she doesn’t yet know if she’s running toward salvation… or a brutal end to everything she loves.

Vi’s journey continues with even more betrayal, romance, magic, and a twist you never saw coming that leaves readers begging for the next book.

BACK ON THIS STRESSFUL RIDE.

I haven’t gotten back to this series in almost a year. I wasn’t super into book two and then it just fell by the wayside. I finally picked up book three and I see a change of pace before me.

I also remember exactly why this book STRESSES ME OUT SO MUCH.

But you would need to read the Air Awakens series first to understand (which I rave about constantly so please do).

The action picked up a lot here and I thought that Vi really started coming into her own. Taking charge of matters. Leading a team. Saving family. All the things I wanted to see from her. It was great and I look forward to her continued passion towards saving the world.

Romance wise, things were better here too. Now that they are able to have some more interaction, Vi and Taavin are starting to pull me on board their ship. LETS SAIL. The conflicts that arise between them are not over dramatic and actually fit into the plot (the best). I’m anxious to see how things break free for them.

Lots of things happening here. SO MANY. I didn’t feel very lost though after not reading this series for a bit which was really appreciated. The way that things from other books are brought up line up perfectly, keeping me informed and wanting more.

Can’t wait to finish this series up shortly!

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult fantasy + romance
  • Language: some
  • Romance: kisses to implied closed door scenes
  • Violence: physical altercations, magic, betrayals, weaponry; not overly bloody/gory

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic #1) by Elisa Kova

Rating: ☆☆☆
Audience: Fantasy Romance
Length: 338 pages
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Release Date: November 6th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

ROMANTIC.

This was pretty good! I enjoyed some aspects, but had some issues with others. Overall, I’m excited to see where this series goes. I love Elisa Kova’s work and was definitely excited for a new series from her.

I was smitten with Eldas. My brooding, dark king with a soft side. His character development went beautifully over the course of a shorter standalone. He was the gem between him and Luella. Because Luella, Luella annoyed me. Ugh. I liked her on and off throughout. Her naivety (read: stubbornness) about many things made wish she would catch on a touch quicker. Luella communicated well, but not at times she should have that came off as just an attempt to lengthen the story.

The story was great. I love elves and faeries. I am always here for a fantasy romance. I enjoyed the quick pace and that it didn’t feel too rushed. The romance was developed well and I definitely was shouting at my book by the time we got to the there’s only one bed scene. I would have really loved even more scenes with Eldas and Luella because they had great chemistry and banter that I couldn’t get enough of. This made the middle kind of drag and have some sub-plots that took too long to workout, but otherwise, a good read.

Overall audience notes:

  • Fantasy romance
  • Language: very little
  • Romance: kisses / make-outs; a few low detailed love scenes
  • Violence: drug addiction, physical altercations, magic attacks, animal attacks

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Vortex Visions (Air Awakens: Vortex Chronicles #1) by Elise Kova

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: YA Fantasy
Length: 374 pages
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Release Date: February 4th, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

A desperate princess, a magical traveler, and a watch that binds them together with the fate of a dying world.

Vi Solaris is the heir to an Empire she’s barely seen. Her parents sacrificed a life with her to quell a rebellion and secure peace with a political alliance. Now, three years past when her wardship should’ve ended, Vi will do anything to be reunited with her family.

The Empire is faltering beneath the burden of political infighting and a deadly plague. Yet, Vi can’t help but wonder if her inability to control her magic is the true reason her parents haven’t brought her home. Suspicion becomes reality when she unleashes powers she’s not supposed to have.

Powers that might well cost her the throne.

As Vi fights to get her magic under control, a mysterious stranger appears from across the world. He holds the keys to unlocking her full potential, but the knowledge has an unspeakable price — some truths, once seen, cannot be ignored.

All eyes are on her and Vi must make the hardest choice of her life: Play by the rules and claim her throne. Or, break them and save the world.

GOOD TO BE BACK.

There’s no secret here, I LOVE THE AIR AWAKENS SERIES. It’s one of my all time favorites now after reading it in 2019. I took a break from the world after binge reading the series. Now I’m back and ready for more.

I thought this was another good starter book for this new series. It’s set with Vhalla and Aldrik’s daughter, Vi and I know I’m going to love her just as much as I love Vhalla. I liked her spunk and bravery. The firm way she loves those around her and tries to protect them and the budding signs of a future empress. All good things here.

What I can’t stand for is SOMETHING THAT I WILL RIOT ABOUT IF TRUE. Though I fear it may end this way regardless, I will hold fast to my ideals. Kova once again does a magnificent job of keeping you on edge in her favorite fashion of killing/almost killing characters. I’m already trying to pick out who I think won’t make it to the end.

The romance is budding and sweet. I love the slow build of these books and that it doesn’t reach past or rush to solidify a relationship. There’s banter, friendship, quiet moments that I know will make me fall in love and ship them as hard as I ship Vhaldrik.

This new story line with new wickedness is interesting and I think will make for a great read. I like that I’ll get to know more about the other continent and that it seems to be pretty different from the previous series.

A bit of a note, you don’t HAVE to read Air Awakens first to read this series (the author has mentioned this), BUT I do think it’s a great place to start for Kova’s books.

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult fantasy romance
  • Language: none
  • Romance: some banter/flirting
  • Violence: elemental magic, physical, swords

Instagram || Goodreads