Book Review

Book Review: Dear Emmie Blue by Lia Louis

Rating: ★★★★★
Audience: Contemporary Romance
Length: 320 pages
Author: Lia Louis
Publisher: Atria
Release Date: July 14th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address… and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached address, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue “beautifully captures the heartache and frustrations of carrying our teenaged selves with us wherever we go” (Anstey Harris, author of Goodbye Paris) that is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

MY HEART.

Well this book turned me into an absolute puddle and is now my favorite Lia Louis book to date.

I absolutely loved Emmie’s story and the progress she made in loving who she is and where she is and recognizing the love around her. Having to walk through a lot of personal fires to get to where she is at the end had me cheering her on the whole way.

And that romance??? OMG. I was a misty eyed woman reading those last few scenes. Even if you realize what’s happening it’ll still squeeze your heart in the most beautifully painful ways. I love how those things worked out and that Emmie got to know the WHOLE truth of things. It only made the ending that much sweeter.

A fantastic audiobook that I couldn’t put down. A story that will melt your soul and I cannot recommend this one enough. I’m not big on backlist reading, and I am grateful I dove back for this one!!

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Language: a little
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: low
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: slut shaming, victim shaming, sexual assault of a minor, cheating

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph

Book Review

Book Review: The Key to My Heart by Lia Louis

Rating: ★★★★
Audience: Contemporary Fiction + Romance
Length: 352 pages
Author: Lia Louis
Publisher: Atria
Release Date: December 6th, 2022
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

A heartwarming novel about hope after loss as a young widow receives mysterious messages of love from the “must-buy author” (Jodi Picoult) of Eight Perfect Hours.

Sparkly and charming Natalie Fincher has it all—a handsome new husband, a fixer-upper cottage of her dreams, and the opportunity to tour with the musical she’s spent years writing. But when her husband suddenly dies, all her hopes and dreams instantly disappear.

Two and a half years later, Natalie is still lost. She works, sleeps (well, as much as the sexually frustrated village foxes will allow), and sees friends just often enough to allay their worries, but her life is empty. And she can only bring herself to play music at a London train station’s public piano where she can be anonymous. She’s lost motivation, faith in love, in happiness…in everything.

But when someone begins to mysteriously leave the sheet music for her husband’s favorite songs at the station’s piano, Natalie begins to feel a sense of hope and excitement for the first time. As she investigates just who could be doing this, Natalie finds herself on an unexpected journey toward newfound love for herself, for life, and maybe, for a special someone.

Thank you Book Club Favorites and Simon & Schuster for a gifted copy.

MY HEART.

I knew going in this book was going to hurt. Widow plots are some of the hardest for me to read about. I truly enjoyed this one though and all the truth and love and pain it held. Another beautiful book by Lia Louis!

I loved the overall theme of how grief creates its own path. And that it’s OKAY to have a different path than someone else’s. The side characters provided a lot of different angles to how people approach those experiencing grief too. It became multi-faceted and complex and had all of my heart strings pulled.

The romance was so dang sweet. I loved the slow steps into it and how a friendship grew first. There’s a tiny dash of a love triangle (it’s good, I promise!) and I loved how it worked out in the end.

One particular chapter at the end had me tearing up and wanting to hug Natalie. A fantastic and poignant read that I’d easily recommend!

Overall audience notes:

  • Women’s Fiction / Romance
  • Language: some strong
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: low
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: loss of a spouse (theme), loss of loved ones, grief, depression

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph