Book Review

Book Review: A Deal with the Elf King (Married to Magic #1) by Elisa Kova

Rating: ☆☆☆
Audience: Fantasy Romance
Length: 338 pages
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Silver Wing Press
Release Date: November 6th, 2020
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella’s village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she’s dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town’s only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives… for her.

Everything Luella had thought she’d known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another… but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a “happily ever after” ending. It’s perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

ROMANTIC.

This was pretty good! I enjoyed some aspects, but had some issues with others. Overall, I’m excited to see where this series goes. I love Elisa Kova’s work and was definitely excited for a new series from her.

I was smitten with Eldas. My brooding, dark king with a soft side. His character development went beautifully over the course of a shorter standalone. He was the gem between him and Luella. Because Luella, Luella annoyed me. Ugh. I liked her on and off throughout. Her naivety (read: stubbornness) about many things made wish she would catch on a touch quicker. Luella communicated well, but not at times she should have that came off as just an attempt to lengthen the story.

The story was great. I love elves and faeries. I am always here for a fantasy romance. I enjoyed the quick pace and that it didn’t feel too rushed. The romance was developed well and I definitely was shouting at my book by the time we got to the there’s only one bed scene. I would have really loved even more scenes with Eldas and Luella because they had great chemistry and banter that I couldn’t get enough of. This made the middle kind of drag and have some sub-plots that took too long to workout, but otherwise, a good read.

Overall audience notes:

  • Fantasy romance
  • Language: very little
  • Romance: kisses / make-outs; a few low detailed love scenes
  • Violence: drug addiction, physical altercations, magic attacks, animal attacks

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: The Royal Treatment (Crown Jewels #1) by Melanie Summers

Rating: ☆☆☆
Audience: Contemporary romance
Length: 281 pages
Author: Melanie Summers
Publisher: Indigo Group
Release Date: August 15th, 2017
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Ultra-private, ridiculously handsome Crown Prince Arthur has always gotten by on his charm. But that won’t be enough now that the Royal Family is about to be ousted from power once and for all. When Prince Arthur has to rely on the one woman in the kingdom who hates him most, he must learn that earning the love of a nation means first risking his heart.

Twenty-eight-year-old Tessa Sharpe, a.k.a. The Royal Watchdog, hates everything about Prince Arthur. As far as she’s concerned, he’s an arrogant, lazy leech on the kingdom of Avonia. When he shocks the nation by giving her the keys to the castle, Tessa has no choice but to accept and move in for two months. It’s lust at first sight, but there’s no way she can give in to her feelings—not if she wants to have a career or a shred of pride left when her time at the palace ends…

Can two natural enemies find their forever in each other’s arms, or will they ruin each other to save themselves?

EXCALIBUR.

I picked this up for what was hopefully going to be a distracted, royalty filled romance. Instead I was distracted by one thing that just bleh to me.

I couldn’t handle the Prince referring to his *manhood* as a scepter or Excalibur, over and over again. The first time or two, I shook it off, it fit the theme, okay sure. But the more it went on, the more I was just like…stop. Subtly was definitely lacking for this romance and I didn’t love it.

This did make me laugh at times and it was a quick read. The story was line was quirky and well put together for a royal romance read. My struggles with it didn’t detract from enjoying it. When the subtly was there, I did really like Tessa and Arthur. I thought the moments they were getting to know each other and flirting were cute.

I don’t plan on continuing the series since it wasn’t a total fit for me.

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary romance
  • Language: some strong throughout
  • Romance: kisses / make-outs; a handful of open and closed door scenes
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: brief mention of losing a loved one from suicide

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: Holiday Heist (Wayfair Witches #11.5) by A.A. Albright

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: Paranormal cozy mystery
Length: 237 pages
Author: A.A. Albright
Publisher: Self-published
Release Date: November 21st, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

This is a standalone cozy mystery novel, set in the Wayfair Witches world. It can be enjoyed without having read the Wayfair Witches series.

A holiday heist, a powerful child, and a parolee Melissa can’t stand the sight of? It sounds like a recipe for a very Merry Solstice.

The Nemo Foundation’s kids are planning some Solstice shenanigans, but Melissa has no idea what their hijinks might entail. She’s far too busy figuring out why an emaciated wizard was drained by a harpy, and trying to keep a young weredog out of jail. Plus, the Queen of the Faeries has promised three miracles this holiday season – and in order for those three miracles to pass, Melissa must learn to trust someone she hates.

ALL THE HOLIDAY SPIRIT.

This book just shouted HAPPY HOLIDAYS, and I loved it. All the Christmas-time vibes with some magical miracles really melted my heart.

I love that this story had quite a bit of Will in here. I’ve always loved his character and I really needed and appreciated getting more of him in this book. Especially with Melissa. The focus on forgiveness was tender and fit this story perfectly.

This really is the last story [right now?] for this series. It’s a side story that didn’t have a murder mystery this time, but a mystery all the same. We got to know more of the members of Nemo and the great work that Melissa and Miles are accomplishing for and with them.

Heartwarming and a delightful read. I’m glad I took the time to read these side stories as well. They truly only added to the whole Wayfair Witches series.

Overall audience notes:

  • Paranormal cozy mystery
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: magical, kidnapping

Instagram || Goodreads

Book Review

Book Review: All Hallowed Out (Wayfair Witches #11) by A.A. Albright

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: Paranormal Cozy Mystery
Length: 273 pages
Author: A.A. Albright
Publisher: Self-Published
Release Date: October 25th, 2019
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

Halloween is coming to Riddler’s Cove. And this year, it might just last forever …

Wanda and her coven are looking forward to the holidays. Unfortunately, a dangerous spell is in the works, and in order to see it through, witches are being put to sleep or being murdered, without a clear connection between them all.

With the help of a hyperactive familiar, Wanda and the gang need to track down the novel which began it all. But with all the copies quickly disappearing, and the book’s writer in a deep sleep, their task is a difficult one. And if they can’t stop the spell in time, the world will never be the same again.

Will Berry, now imprisoned in Witchfield, might well be the only one who can help. But only if they can bring themselves to trust him …

A FITTING ENDING.

Y’all. I did it.

I read this entire series during the fall season and it fit perfectly. In addition to the book review I want to add a touch of a series review too. I just loved these characters, how within the murder mystery of each installment there were bigger pieces being moved. The sweet romance and friendships. Cute talking animals, a great setting. I can’t wait to read Albright’s other series because this is definitely a favorite. I rarely stick with and read all the books in a series in such a short time period, these continually kept me entertained.

Now to the book, I love how this ending worked out. It was fitting and gave a certain character the redemption arc I needed to see for them. The mystery had me guessing the entire way through with its twists and turns. It flew by so quickly and I’m sad it’s over!

I love Wanda. I love Max. I love Dizzy, Melissa, Wanda’s family and coven, Finn, and oh my goodness everyone. These characters continue to do what they do best and make this series what it is. A hidden gem that I will definitely continue to recommend if you’re looking for a cozy paranormal mystery.

Overall audience notes:

  • Paranormal cozy mystery
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: murder

Instagram || Goodreads