Book Review

Book Review: On Rotation by Shirlene Obuobi

Rating: ★★★
Audience: Contemporary Romance
Length: 352 pages
Author: Shirlene Obuobi
Publisher: Avon Books
Release Date: June 21st, 2022
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

For fans of Grey’s Anatomy and Seven Days in June, this dazzling debut novel by Shirlene Obuobi explores that time in your life when you must decide what you want, how to get it, & who you are, all while navigating love, friendship, and the realization that the path you’re traveling is going to be a bumpy ride.

Ghanaian-American Angela Appiah has checked off all the boxes for the “Perfect Immigrant Daughter.”

– Enroll in an elite medical school
– Snag a suitable lawyer/doctor/engineer boyfriend
– Surround self with a gaggle of successful and/or loyal friends

But then it quickly all falls apart: her boyfriend dumps her, she bombs the most important exam of her medical career, and her best friend pulls away. And her parents, whose approval seems to hinge on how closely she follows the path they chose, are a lot less proud of their daughter. It’s a quarter life crisis of epic proportions.

Angie, who has always faced her problems by working “twice as hard to get half as far,” is at a loss. Suddenly, she begins to question everything: her career choice, her friendships, even why she’s attracted to men who don’t love her as much as she loves them.

And just when things couldn’t get more complicated, enter Ricky Gutierrez— brilliant, thoughtful, sexy, and most importantly, seems to see Angie for who she is instead of what she can represent.

Unfortunately, he’s also got “wasteman” practically tattooed across his forehead, and Angie’s done chasing mirages of men. Or so she thinks. For someone who’s always been in control, Angie realizes that there’s one thing she can’t plan on: matters of her heart.

IN THE MIDDLE.

I have mixed thoughts on this one.

Firstly, I loved the medical school setting. I think it was unique and I learned a lot more (as someone who almost went to med school) than I previously knew. I love when a read is more impactful than expected and there were many, many conversations in here about important themes and topics that I appreciated being highlighted. There’s always space to grow and listen, and this book provided a moment like that.

Romance wise, I wasn’t sold. It started off iffy and then by the time I truly thought it was sweet, things soured quickly. I didn’t like the way the conflict was handled, I never fell for Ricky and I really wanted the best for Angie. Just not convinced this was it.

This does read more as fiction over romance (which I know some prefer). For me, I was hoping for a bit more romance interspersed. The audiobook narrator was wonderful, but I hesitantly say to go with the audiobook option. I learned via other reviews that there’s footnotes about a lot of the medical related things in here and it came off in the audio as more of an over explanation. Knowing about the footnotes helped me change my frame of mind while listening. Adding that in here so others know too!

Overall audience notes:

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Language: strong
  • Romance: brief fade to black
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: racism, misogyny, sexism, drug abuse, death, medical scenes, anxiety, mentions of gun violence

Instagram || Goodreads || The StoryGraph