Book Review

Book Review: 11 Paper Hearts by Kelsey Hartwell

Rating: ☆☆☆☆
Audience: YA Contemporary Romance
Length: 320 pages
Author: Kelsey Hartwell
Publisher: Underlined
Release Date: January 5th, 2021
Image & Other Reviews on: Goodreads

BOOK SUMMARY:

A YA contemporary rom com about a girl who follows a trail of paper hearts from her mystery admirer–and it’s a paperback original perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and the Kissing Booth.

Ella’s life was picture perfect. She had a circle of close friends, a jam-packed social life, and an amazing boyfriend. But then something completely unexpected happened: a car accident after a Valentine’s Day dance. When Ella woke up in the hospital, she couldn’t remember the accident . . . or anything about the weeks before it, including the reason she broke up with her boyfriend.

Now, a year later, she begins receiving paper hearts from a mysterious admirer who seems to have the answers she craves. Ella is intrigued. The hearts contain clues to help Ella remember her life before . . . and take her on a journey she never imagined. Following the paper hearts is the most spontaneous thing Ella has ever done . . . but will she find love?

VERY SWEET.

I suuuper enjoyed this one y’all! It was perfectly cute and sweet. What I love about a great young adult contemporary romance. The premise of the hearts was fun to follow on the journey.

My only true complaint was how oblivious the main character was. The people she assumed who were writing the hearts made me laugh because of how CONVINCED she was that it she was right. Her friends were also terrible and I was enraged half the time at them. Gratefully it alllll worked out in the end so it at least worked within the story.

Besides that, this was a wonderful adventure! I loved following Ella’s story. Andy was so dang precious. They had banter that kept me smiling, and a vibe that I was hooked on. It’s completely predictable, but that is where it works best. A cute and predictable romance that will give you some good warm fuzzies.

Overall audience notes:

  • Young adult contemporary romance
  • Language: none
  • Romance: kisses
  • Violence: car accident
  • Trigger/Content Warnings: car accident resulting in retrograde amnesia, bullying, terrible friends

Instagram || Goodreads